Max to compete in famous Macau GP: Everything you need to know

Maximilian Günther is set to line up for the second time in the legendary Macau Grand Prix, China (16th – 19th November 2017). The race will be run this year for the 64th time on the Guia street circuit where the world’s 22 best Formula 3 drivers will compete for the FIA F3 World Championship. Maximilian will race for SJM Theodore Racing by Prema, who have already won the Macau GP eight times, once in 1983 with Ayrton Senna.

Max: “I am really excited to be here once again in Macau.  We have been preparing for this race for some time, as it is the jewel in the crown for all drivers trying to reach Formula 1.  I have had a good season in the FIA European F3 championship and my aim is to continue this form here in Macau.  I would like to thank SJM Theodore Racing by Prema team for their fantastic support.  So let’s get it on!”

Time table
(Time zone: CST (China Standard Time) – UTC/GMT +8 hours)

Thursday 16 November
02:35 – 03:15 Formula 3 World Cup, 1st Practice
07:10 – 07:50 Formula 3 World Cup, 1st Qualifying

Friday 17 November
04:45 – 05:25 Formula 3 World Cup, 2nd Practice
08:25 – 09:05 Formula 3 World Cup, 2nd Qualifying

Saturday 18 November
03:20 – 04:10 Formula 3 World Cup, Qualifying Race (10 laps)

Sunday 19 November
08:30 – 09:30 Formula 3 World Cup (15 laps)

Live-stream of all sessions:

F3 World Cup Fast Facts
Drivers: 22
Teams: 7
Title: FIA F3 World Cup for drivers
Engine: 2.0-litre / 240hp
Weight: 565kg
Top speed: 275km/h

Famous Macau Grand Prix winners: Ayrton Senna, Michael Schumacher, David Coulthard, Riccardo Patrese, Ralf Schumacher, Takuma Sato, Lucas Di Grassi

The track: Guia Circuit
The Guia circuit is the defining feature of the Macau Grand Prix, offering a heady mix of challenging corners, altitude changes and high-speed sectors. Unpredictable conditions test the highest skill levels and best car set-ups, as the circuit’s patent yellow-black barriers loom high and offer little run-off.

Location: Southern coast of People’s Republic of China, 65 kilometres west of Hong Kong
Lap distance: 6.120km (street circuit)
Corners: 22
Elevation change: 30 metres
Minimum width: Seven metres (Melco Hairpin)
F3 lap record: 2:10.186 (2015)

The team: SJM Theodore Racing by Prema
Theodore Racing is a former Formula 1 team, founded in 1976 by the late Teddy Yip Snr. The team attracted future Formula 1 world champions such as Alan Jones, Keke Rosberg, Ayrton Senna and Mika Häkkinen. Theodore Racing made a successful return to racing in 2013 under Yip’s Son, Teddy Jnr, scoring a record seventh victory at the 60th Macau Grand Prix. The team’s return to Macau also coincided with the 30th anniversary of Ayrton Senna’s victory for Theodore Racing in the inaugural Macau Formula 3 race. In Macau, Theodore Racing works together with Prema Powerteam.