Maxi top of class in second evaluation period of Speed Academy

€20,000 sponsorship award from Deutsche Post

Since the start of 2015, the talented youngsters of the Deutsche Post Speed Academy have been seeking to make a favourable impression both on and off the track. Maximilian Günther has emerged ahead of the rest in the second evaluation period.

After securing the runner-up spot in the first quarter, Maximilian has done even better in the second evaluation period. The highly-qualified panel of judges paid tribute to his motorsport achievements and to his positive demeanour off the track, placing the 18-year-old top of the class. The budding formula driver is now entitled to €20,000 in sponsorship money.

Maxi: “It’s a great feeling to know that my efforts are appreciated by the judges. I’m sure that we still have a lot more to learn in preparation for our future life and career. And there are two more reviews to go, so it’s all about staying focused and giving our best at all times.”

“Solid education and training is the basis of all career planning,” says Alexander Safavi, Project Manager at Deutsche Post Speed Academy. “And in professional racing especially, it’s important to be fit in mind and body. That’s why our young motorsport talents receive valuable coaching in professional conduct off the track during their time in the Deutsche Post development programme. And of course, they also need to work on their own development and show commitment. Our funding candidates have already learnt a lot in this respect during the first half of the year, and we still have quite a few important workshops in store.”

The Deutsche Post Speed Academy is the most successful German youth development programme in motorsport and has helped some well-known names in the early stage of their careers, including Timo Glock, Nico Hülkenberg, Adrian Sutil, Christian Vietoris, Pascal Wehrlein and reigning DTM champion Marco Wittmann.

Since 2004, talented young racers have been guided on their way into professional motorsports. Nine prominent and expert members of the panel (e.g. Timo Glock, Jens Marquardt, Norbert Haug and Kai Ebel) evaluate the performance of the sponsorship applicants over a period of 12 months.

Foto: Deutsche Post Speed Academy