Social Media

news

Success

A dream came true! Maximilian Günther competes with BMW i Andretti Motorsport in the ABB FIA Formula E Championship 2019/20 and becomes factory driver of the Munich-based manufacturer. Since the fifth season, the German has been competing in the world’s first all-electric FIA Championship for formula cars, which mostly takes place on street circuits at spectacular venues such as New York, Hong Kong, Paris, Rome and Berlin.

 Maximilian Günther has worked as a test and development driver for Jay Penske’s American team GEOX DRAGON since the beginning of 2018 and was significantly involved in the development of their Gen2 car. In the same year, the 21-year-old German took part in the FIA Formula 2 Championship, where he won the prestigious race at the Grand Prix of Great Britain. 

In Season 5 of the ABB FIA Formula E championship, Maximilian Günther was the youngest regular driver in the history of the racing series at the age of 21 years. In Paris and Bern he finished in the top 5 after a strong pace and scored a total of 20 points in his rookie season. With this performance the German attracted attention and recommended himself for a BMW factory cockpit.

 Maximilian Günther began his motorsport career in various junior racing series. His greatest successes to date include the runner-up title in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship 2016, the win at the historic Formula 3 Grand Prix de Pau 2017 and the win in the FIA Formula 2 at the Grand Prix of Great Britain at Silverstone. In 2016 and 2017 Maximilian Günther was in working as DTM test and replacement driver and Formula 1 simulator driver for Mercedes. Two times he was named Germany’s Motorsport Talent of the Year by the Deutsche Post Speed Academy and was also voted ADAC Junior Motorsportsman of the Year by a panel of experts in 2016.

2019 ABB FIA Formula E Championship (GEOX Dragon) – 5th place Paris E-Prix, 5th place Bern E-Prix
2018 FIA F2 Championship – Silverstone – 1st place, Bahrain – 2nd place
ABB FIA Formula E test- and reserve driver (Dragon Racing)
2017 Grand Prix de Pau – Winner
FIA F3 European Championship – 3rd place
FIA F3 World Championship Macau – 5th place
DTM test- and reserve driver (Mercedes AMG DTM)
Formula 1 simulator driver (Mercedes AMG F1)
2016 FIA F3 European Championship – Vice champion
ADAC Junior Motorsport Man of the Year – Germany
Motorsport Talent of the Year – Germany
DTM test- and reserve driver (Mercedes AMG DTM)
Formula 1 simulator driver (Mercedes AMG F1)
2015
Grand Prix de Pau – 2nd place
FIA F3 European Championship – 8th place
2014 ADAC Formel Masters – Vice champion
Motorsport Talent of the Year – Germany
2013 ADAC Formel Masters – Vice champion
2011 Formula BMW – Vice champion
2005-2010 Karting – Highlight: ADAC Kart Masters champion (2010)

Sponsors

Social Media

Mit Maximilian in der Fast Lane

Ein Traum ist wahr geworden! Maximilian Günther tritt mit BMW i Andretti Motorsport in der ABB FIA Formula E Saison 2019/20 an und wird Werksfahrer des Automobilkonzerns aus München. Seit der fünften Saison ist der Allgäuer in der weltweit ersten vollelektrischen FIA-Meisterschaft für Formelfahrzeuge unterwegs, die ihre Rennen meist auf Straßenkursen an spektakulären Schauplätzen unter anderem in New York, Hongkong, Paris, Rom und Berlin austrägt.

Maximilian Günther war seit Anfang 2018 als Test- und Entwicklungsfahrer für das amerikanische Team GEOX DRAGON von Jay Penske tätig und maßgeblich in die Entwicklung des Gen2-Autos involviert. Im gleichen Jahr nahm der 21-jährige Deutsche an der FIA Formel 2 Meisterschaft teil, wo er das prestigeträchtige Rennen beim Großen Preis von Großbritannien gewann. 

Maximilian Günther war in der Saison 5 der ABB FIA Formula E mit 21 Jahren der jüngste Stammfahrer in der Geschichte der Rennserie. In Paris und Bern fuhr er nach einer starken Performance jeweils in die Top 5 und holte in seiner Rookie-Saison insgesamt 20 Punkte. Mit dieser Leistung machte der Deutsche auf sich aufmerksam und empfahl sich für ein BMW-Werkscockpit.

Seine Motorsportkarriere begann für Maximilian Günther in verschiedenen Nachwuchs-Rennserien. Zu seinen bisher größten Erfolgen zählen der Vize-Europameistertitel in der FIA Formel 3 Europameisterschaft 2016, der Sieg beim historischen Formel 3 Grand Prix de Pau 2017 und der Sieg in der FIA Formel 2 beim Großen Preis von Großbritannien in Silverstone. 2016 und 2017 war Maximilian Günther als DTM Test- und Ersatzfahrer sowie als Formel 1 Simulatorfahrer für Mercedes im Einsatz. Der Rettenberger wurde zweimal von der Deutschen Post Speed Academy zu Deutschlands Motorsport Talent des Jahres gekürt und zudem 2016 von einer Fachjury zum ADAC Junior Motorsportler des Jahres gewählt. 

2019

ABB FIA Formula E Championship (GEOX Dragon) – 5th place Paris E-Prix, 5th place Bern E-Prix

2018

FIA F2 Championship – Silverstone – 1st place, Bahrain – 2nd place
ABB FIA Formula E test- and reserve driver (Dragon Racing)

2017 Grand Prix de Pau – Winner
FIA F3 European Championship – 3rd place
FIA F3 World Championship Macau – 5th place
DTM test- and reserve driver (Mercedes AMG DTM)
Formula 1 simulator driver (Mercedes AMG F1)
2016 FIA F3 European Championship – Vice champion
ADAC Junior Motorsport Man of the Year – Germany
Motorsport Talent of the Year – Germany
DTM test- and reserve driver (Mercedes AMG DTM)
Formula 1 simulator driver (Mercedes AMG F1)
2015
Grand Prix de Pau – 2nd place
FIA F3 European Championship – 8th place
2014 ADAC Formel Masters – Vice champion
Motorsport Talent of the Year – Germany
2013 ADAC Formel Masters – Vice champion
2011 Formula BMW – Vice champion
2005-2010 Karting – Highlight: ADAC Kart Masters champion (2010)

Sponsoren